Dear Prudence Lyrics Endarkened

Tentacles

dance to the magic

Just a bit of randomness to add to your day. I love the sound of this song, the way the Beatles recorded it. Something in the way the guitar is tuned perhaps? But it never put me in mind of sunny days and daisy chains. To me it’s more campfires and lightning bugs, stars and moon and crickets and whispering trees. So I tweaked it a little:

Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play?
Dear Prudence, greet the night’s display
The moon is up, sky midnight blue
It’s beautiful and so are you
Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play?

Dear Prudence, open up your eyes
Dear Prudence, see the starry skies
The wind is high, the trees will sing
That you are part of everything
Dear Prudence, won’t you open up your eyes?

Look around round
Look around round round
Spin around

Dear Prudence, let me see you smile
Dear Prudence, crazy lady style
The Earth will be your dancing floor
So let me see you dance once more
Dear Prudence, won’t you let me see you smile?

Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play?
Dear Prudence, greet the night’s display
The moon is up, sky midnight blue
It’s beautiful and so are you
Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play?

I also wanted a hint of the arcane and magical in there (I always do) and so I also can see it as an invitation to a witches’ circle.
The illustration is from a meditation I did: stretching out your tentacles for magic and pulling energy from the whole universe, flowing it through you from all sides, from all sources, and contributing it to the earth.

I am a writer/illustrator of various types of speculative fiction but mostly modern fantasy. I have loved magic, and the people and creatures who live with it and use it, all my life, and writing and drawing these people in modern environments makes it all the more real to me. I also like to add an element of Darkness and horror, as well as science fiction, for “flavor”. I am fascinated with everything from unicorns and dragons to vampires and demons.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Who does this chick think she is?
Contribute

Paypal One-Time Donation – or – Become a patron on Patreon!

Patreon is a service to provide funding for creators of all kinds. Donations for my blogs and creations are (currently) a per-project basis. Be sure to browse and find your favorite creators so you can not only send recurring funds, but keep in touch and get exclusive insights and incentives.

Why, you may ask, am I asking for donations? Please consider that I spend hours wording my posts and creating original artwork to enhance their meaning. If you’ve enjoyed and hopefully felt enlightened (or endarkened?) by what you’ve read, and if you’d like to see more articles, I would truly appreciate your funds and your energy. Also, I would like to produce some books in the future, both of these kinds of articles and fiction stories, and your funding would help this immensely.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

