Why I haven’t blogged about True Blood

vampire werewolf waitress cartoon caricature

One Weighted Waitress

Where the women are strong, the men are good looking, and all the children…think vampires are really cool!

I confess I’ve gotten disgusted with all TV series, I think. I get really excited and hooked on the first ten or so episodes. Then the cliff-hanger endings start to annoy, and soap opera relationships kick in along the plot lines, and I start rolling my eyes. I have been watching the first season of True Blood, and whereas I think it’s very well-made, as most HBO shows I’ve seen are, the sex and violence are way over the top. But more importantly, there are too many characters and plot lines for one to get a satisfying piece of the story within one episode, and the characters have begun to do stupid things for, what seems to me, the sole purpose of stretching the plot out longer. For instance: vampire Bill catches Sookie snogging with Sam, gets all jealous and fangy and starts throwing Sam around (luckily he’s a shapeshifter so he can take the beating fairly well), so Sookie gets pissed and rescinds his invitation in her house. All this while she’s still got a serial killer after her, and she could really use all the protection she could get. I can already see the next scene where the killer gets into the house and now Bill can’t come in and help, so Sookie’s on her own.

I am the type to be all for girl-meets-vampire, but I’m also a romantic, and plots along the lines of “will our heroine stick with her blood-sucker or sneak out with the shapeshifter?” scream sell-out to me. Conjecture on who the killer is can only drag out so long (I’ve narrowed it down to two, and I’m leaning towards the “nice” guy), and while I’ve developed interest in Tara and Jason, I know their problems are never going to be resolved as long as the series has to go on.

I had roughly the same response to the Anita Blake novels after a while, which put me off the Sookie Stackhouse books after the first few as I percieved them to be Anita-Blake-in-the-South. The only reason I hung on all the way through the Merry Gentry series is I read somewhere that LKH had a definite ending in mind (an ending which, I will say, surprised me a little and was satisfactory). I guess I’m just a snob about how I want my paranormal romance, or maybe I just have no love for writers who continue to drag their characters through terrible lives for the sake of the next book/season. Why not just start a new series? It has your name on it: your readers will come back to you, whether it’s the same character or not. Or if not, have a trilogy: resolve all the immediate issues; and then go have another trilogy, with almost all new issues!

It’s not that these series are not Dark enough to honor in my blog. On the contrary, I run to such things time and time again, professing that “I just want to see what they did with it,” and I get hooked by the sensual vampire lovers, even long before the heroines fall in love with them. But this is why I storm off in a huff when the girl runs off with some other hottie the minute the vamp does something she doesn’t like. So, true to pattern, I am alternately giddy and disgusted with the artful (and yes, deliciously Dark) rendition of True Blood.

I am a writer/illustrator of various types of speculative fiction but mostly modern fantasy. I have loved magic, and the people and creatures who live with it and use it, all my life, and writing and drawing these people in modern environments makes it all the more real to me. I also like to add an element of Darkness and horror, as well as science fiction, for “flavor”. I am fascinated with everything from unicorns and dragons to vampires and demons.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Who does this chick think she is?
Contribute

Paypal One-Time Donation – or – Become a patron on Patreon!

Patreon is a service to provide funding for creators of all kinds. Donations for my blogs and creations are (currently) a per-project basis. Be sure to browse and find your favorite creators so you can not only send recurring funds, but keep in touch and get exclusive insights and incentives.

Why, you may ask, am I asking for donations? Please consider that I spend hours wording my posts and creating original artwork to enhance their meaning. If you’ve enjoyed and hopefully felt enlightened (or endarkened?) by what you’ve read, and if you’d like to see more articles, I would truly appreciate your funds and your energy. Also, I would like to produce some books in the future, both of these kinds of articles and fiction stories, and your funding would help this immensely.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

