Darkly Dreaming

many layers of Dexter Morgan

look deep into many layers of Self

Who needs plain ol’ vigilantes like Batman and Zorro when we can have an all-out serial killer?

I watched the first season of Dexter on DVD out of curiosity, and found myself immediately drawn to the character. Naturally, my thought process following this was, “OMG why do I feel such empathy with a man who brutally murders people? A guy who gets off on killing?!?”

With some deeper exploration of my feelings towards different aspects of the show, I found it was not the killing of bad people that I was responding to. It was the way that Dexter has to force himself to interact with normal people.

Often in my life I feel I have to hide certain parts of myself in order to be accepted in average society. I feel no one understands me with my whimsies of vampires, and the way I see the shallowness of much American “culture.” Unless I’m with my closest friends, I often have thoughts I can’t express, or urges I can’t act on to dance to strange music or wear extravagant clothes. Billy Joel’s song “the Stranger” speaks of masks of satin, steel, silk and leather: I feel sometimes that I have multiple hidden masks inside of me, not just one.

And so Dexter’s struggle to hide his nature, to show people emotions that are different than what he really feels, rings remarkably true to me. As the first season goes on, we find out that he in fact has something hidden from himself: his traumatic past before he was adopted.

The Higher Dark is certainly a place of hidden things within our psyche. It is a safe place, a blanket we can wrap around ourselves when we need to escape from the world. While we do need to find others, kindred spirits that we can relax and let into that secret space, it is okay to have that safe place where the world cannot touch you. It’s a place to explore yourself, to be honest with yourself, to examine why you think and feel the way you do. And we must seek out those secrets that we keep even from ourselves, so that we can heal old wounds, repair or replace thoughts that are broken, and realize who our True Self is and love and cherish that Self.

I am a writer/illustrator of various types of speculative fiction but mostly modern fantasy. I have loved magic, and the people and creatures who live with it and use it, all my life, and writing and drawing these people in modern environments makes it all the more real to me. I also like to add an element of Darkness and horror, as well as science fiction, for “flavor”. I am fascinated with everything from unicorns and dragons to vampires and demons.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Who does this chick think she is?
Contribute

Paypal One-Time Donation – or – Become a patron on Patreon!

Patreon is a service to provide funding for creators of all kinds. Donations for my blogs and creations are (currently) a per-project basis. Be sure to browse and find your favorite creators so you can not only send recurring funds, but keep in touch and get exclusive insights and incentives.

Why, you may ask, am I asking for donations? Please consider that I spend hours wording my posts and creating original artwork to enhance their meaning. If you’ve enjoyed and hopefully felt enlightened (or endarkened?) by what you’ve read, and if you’d like to see more articles, I would truly appreciate your funds and your energy. Also, I would like to produce some books in the future, both of these kinds of articles and fiction stories, and your funding would help this immensely.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

